No more excuses

I’m in the last week of Term 4 with only one exam and one paper to go.  Before I know it, I’ll be starting my fifth and final term.  I often feel guilty that I’ve let an entire 3 months go by without writing on my blog which further inhibits me from writing a post.  I get overwhelmed at the thought of remembering and writing about all of the moments that I have had during this time while I have so much to complete for school, the Women in Business Club, my social life and my job search.

So I’m going to stop making excuses and take a simple twenty minutes to write about a few things that have happened over the past three months that have been significant for me.

I went home in December.  It was only a week, but it was enough to see most of the important people in my life and to feel like myself once again.  I loved sleeping in my giant bed with lots of covers and two puppies to cuddle with me.  I loved when my mom would wake me up and when we ate meals together just like when I was little.  I missed my brother, of course, but it was nice to be with my mom.  And I felt more connected to my brother just by being stateside and only 1 hour away by phone vs. 6 hours away.  I saw my closest friends who validated some of the feelings I shared about being away from home, being around people who are so different from myself, being stressed about the fact that I may not find a job in the end, etc.  That validation and empathy went further than I expected.  It was sad to leave, but it revitalized me for two more terms of school.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once I returned to Madrid, I met up with my cousin and friend, Emily.  If you don’t know Emily, I can tell you that she is a ball of energy and light.  She has a smile bigger than the sun and she is wise beyond her years.  It was so nice to come “home” to her.  My friend from school, Pablo, met Emily at the airport since I couldn’t be there and took her to my apartment so that she could rest before I arrived.  We enjoyed Madrid, celebrated New Year’s Eve together and had one too many chocolates con churros.  I was sad to see her leave, but I knew she would fall in love with her next stop: Barcelona.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Soon after Emily departed, I began working to do some last minute research for our consulting project and then I was off to Peru.  I had the opportunity to travel a week on my own, thanks to Codi’s help (she’s a great travel agent if you ever need one!), which opened my eyes to a lot of things.  I worried about things that I normally don’t worry about.  Is it safe for me to walk here by myself?  Are they staring at me because I’m eating alone?  After the paranoia subsided, I was able to relax.  But by the end, I couldn’t wait to see people that I know.  I was craving social interaction so much! And Peru was A-B-S-O-L-U-T-E-L-Y amazing!  The people were so nice, the food was incredible and the views…well, they are self-explanatory.  Here are some photos.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And here are some photos of the time that I spent with my Wharton consulting team.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once I returned to Madrid, the atmosphere was different at school.  Many people had left for exchange programs or internships.  The hallways were a little less crowded.  But when I did see someone from my class, I got a big smile on my face and threw my hands around them.  In fact, the night I arrived back in Madrid, I went straight to my friend Miko’s new apartment to catch up.  I had no idea I was going to miss my IE family so much.  And on a sad note, I think the feeling I had is foreshadowing what it will be like in May when we all say goodbye to each other.  I don’t want to think about it.

More recently Maria came to visit as she has been working in Paris (so close!).   She spent one week with me in Madrid and then met up with our KU friend, Harry, in Barcelona. Unfortunately, as when most of my friends have visited, I can’t escape classes and the work that comes along with them.  So the typical stress I face is always in my way. Needless to say, one week with Maria was too short.  It was so nice to be with someone so familiar, someone that I care about so much.  I could talk to her about anything for hours on end.  After we said our goodbyes in the airport, I headed towards the bus to return home.  I might have shed a few tears on the bus, but I won’t go into that.  I was going to insert photos and then I realized that they’re all on my phone!  To be continued…

After I returned home, I helped organize a going away party for my roommate and her closest friends because the next morning she was leaving for her internship in Albany.  It was a good chance to see many people that I typically only see through her since they were in a different class the entire year.

Once my roommate left for the US on Friday, I got busy cleaning and preparing for my new roommate, Patricia.  Patricia is from Barcelona and is currently in dental school.  I feel a little old since she is only 23, but we get along great.  We’re gym buddies and dinner buddies and everything-buddies.  At first, I have to admit, it was somewhat exhausting being on campus all day and then coming home and speaking in Spanish the entire evening.  Speaking Spanish, for topics that are deeper than the weather or school, really require a lot of thinking from me because it has been so long since I’ve been surrounded by Spanish like this.  But it is getting easier.  It is forcing me to practice which exactly what I needed.

My lease ends in one month, so instead of renewing our lease for just two more months, I’ve decided to move in with a classmate.  Pablo has an extra bedroom (with it’s own bathroom – sweeeeeet!!!!) which I will move into on April 1st.  It is a little further than campus than I would like, but I know he will be a great roommate, I don’t have to worry about a housing contract, and the place is very clean.  All pluses.

So that is Term 4.  It has flown by.  I’ll try not to make so many excuses for avoiding this blog from now on. 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

