Thanksgiving

After the Alumni Forum was over, I invited some classmates and friends to a Thanksgiving dinner at a restaurant, La Gringa, which is owned by a family from Arizona.  They own several restaurants in Madrid, one of which has an awesome brunch.  So I thought their Thanksgiving dinner would be tasty and worth the price (30 euros or around $41).  It was great, and I was able to enjoy it with people that I care about a lot.

But that wasn’t my only Thanksgiving celebration…

Another American in my intake, Mallori, decided to host a small gathering for a traditional Thanksgiving dinner.  I was a bit overzealous in the things I signed up to cook, but I think they came out perfect.  The week before, I was rushing around town trying to find all of the ingredients necessary for pumpkin pie, sweet potato casserole and green rice casserole (and cranberries and stuffing for my roommate to cook).  It was more difficult and EXPENSIVE than you might think.  This is what I came home with and can you believe it cost me over 60 euros ($82)?!  Can you guess what the most expensive thing on this counter is?  <Spoiler Alert: Answer is at the bottom of this post>  I know it is a lot, but I really wanted to make some tasty dishes for my classmates.  And it’s only once a year, right?

And here is the result.  I have to say, this was an amazing Thanksgiving.  All of the invitees really stepped it up and brought amazing food.  And it was very representative of where we’re all from.  Peter, the French American, brought amazing cheeses.  Mazyad, from Kuwait, brought couscous.  Marwan and Rayan, from Lebanon, brought the biggest dish of hummus I’ve ever seen in my life.  While the rest of the Americans covered the more traditional dishes such as pumpkin pie, sweet potato casserole, green bean casserole, corn bread (with and without jalapeños), green rice casserole, turkey, stuffing (3 types!), cranberry sauce and mashed potatoes.  AMAZING!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Answer: Pecans at 7 euros ($10) per bag and those bags are only about 1/3 cup of pecans…I needed 3.  It kind of makes me sick just thinking about it, actually.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

