Halloween

I don’t think I have ever been more excited about Halloween than I was this year.  I encouraged the American students (there are about 10 of us) to host a pumpkin carving party for us and the Canadians.  My encouragement worked and I was soon scouring the neighborhood to find pumpkins!  We also made a few nostalgic treats like Rice Crispies treats, homemade apple pie, chicken wings, crudites with ranch dressing and some beer cheese dip.

And let’s talk about the costumes.  My team at Hallmark always took this holiday very seriously and I felt that I needed to carry on that passion from overseas, to show my classmates “how we do it.”  I tried to get all of my classmates excited about the Halloween party that the USA Club hosted, but I think it was a little bit of a stretch to expect people to get as excited as the Americans.  But that didn’t stop me.

It was quite difficult to come up with a costume that all of the nationalities would recognize.  Wednesday Adams?  No.  Lydia Deetz from Beetlejuice?  No.  So I decided to go with a painting: Drowning Girl by Roy Lichtenstein.  I thought it would be creative, yet fairly simple.  I focused on the makeup, the word bubble and the blue wig.  It took me about 2 hours to do my makeup, but I was so proud.  Well, it turns out that very few people actually recognized me.  BUT, I still had a lot of fun!

roommies sriracha

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

