I’m baaaaack!

After a long delay, I’m writing my first blog in almost 2 months.  I’m trying not to be so hard on myself for ignoring the blog for so long.

So what have I been up to?  How were finals, you ask?

Finals turned out ok.  IE has a curve grading policy, so even if I came out of an exam feeling ok, I still wasn’t sure how I fared compared to everyone else in my class.  I just had to wait.  But in the end, I wasn’t #1 and that’s ok.  I’m happy with where I ended the first term.

What I loved about finals was how many of the students came together to help each other out.  I can’t remember camaraderie and fellowship quite like this as an undergraduate.  During the period leading up to finals, the study rooms and hallways were abuzz with people studying.  We have a certain number of hours per term to reserve a study room.  I’m so glad I saved those up, because I used them ALL during this time!

One thing that I quickly learned was that I need time to study alone before I started collaborating with others and even before I sit in the same room.  I need absolute quiet time.  I picked the room on the top floor, furthest from the elevator.  It was nice and quiet and I found myself most productive in that scenario.  Once I was comfortable with a subject, I would join my friends and review.

And in true Madrid fashion, upon finishing our last exam, we headed to a bar near IE.  I didn’t take many photos, just a few which I included below.  But you can check out more photos at my friend Miko’s blog where you can get a good feel for how much we took over that bar.  I would estimate close to 70-100 people were there.  After celebrating at 10:30 am with champagne, I walked home and took a nap before heading to La Terraza that evening for an IE gathering.  La Terraza is inside the famous Bernabeu Stadium, home of the Real Madrid soccer team.  It was a great way to end our first term!

Marcelo and I, investing in a bottle of champagne!

Marcelo and I, investing in a bottle of champagne!

Stefano and I, overlooking the stadium from La Terraza.

Stefano and I, overlooking the stadium from La Terraza.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

