Oops & France

I just looked at the date of my last blog.  It has been over a MONTH with no blog posts. Oops.  So…what was I doing that whole month?  Well, I’ve done quite a bit actually.  I’ll divide them all into separate posts for your reading pleasure.

First, I’ll start with my trip to France.  I mentioned to several of you that I was joining a sports competition through my university (and that I was a little nervous about it given I haven’t participated in organized sports for a while).  The MBA Tournament (MBAT) is organized by MBA students at HEC Paris.  Check out this neat video:

Students from MBA programs across Europe and even a few from the USA, like Harvard Business School, flock to Paris to compete in a variety of individual and team sports.  It is very similar to a corporate challenge.  I played tag rugby (similar to flag football) and dodgeball and when I wasn’t playing, I was wondering around the HEC campus to play sand volleyball and support my fellow IE classmates in other sports.  The campus is beautiful.  They have a lake, soccer fields, sand courts, a track, etc.  I’m happy to report that IE placed 4th out of over a dozen MBA schools!

Gearing up for the games!

Gearing up for the games!

IE Cricket Team

IE Cricket Team

IE Basketball Team

IE Basketball Team

IE Dodgeball "Zombies"

IE Dodgeball “Zombies”

Every night, after the matches, there was a themed dinner party.  The first night was Monte Carlo (billiards), the second night was Woodstock (battle of the bands), and the third night was Havana Nights (salsa competition).  It was nice to meet students from all over the globe and to spend more time with my IE classmates.

Monte Carlo Night. Photo courtesy of Mallori M.

Monte Carlo Night.
Photo courtesy of Mallori M.

On Saturday, a few of us didn’t have any matches so we headed into Paris to be tourists for the day.  I have never really experienced Paris in its entirety, and Saturday still wasn’t enough, so I must return later in the year.  Here are a few photos from our day visit.

Arc de Triomphe

Arc de Triomphe

Jardins du Trocadéro

Jardins du Trocadéro

Sharad, Me and Nalin at the Eiffel Tower

Sharad, Me and Nalin at the Eiffel Tower

Notre Dame

Notre Dame

Mmmm...tasty banana nutella crepe!

Mmmm…tasty banana nutella crepe! Bon appétite!

This entry was posted in Academic, MBA, Social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

